SigmaPhi Prizes

The SigmaPhi Prize for 2017 will be awarded during SigmaPhi2017 Conference

to Ralf Metzler, David Mukamel and Stefano Ruffo.

The SigmaPhi Prize was instituted by the SigmaPhi Conference to honor outstanding achievements in Statistical Physics. The Award ceremony takes place  every three years during the opening session of the Conference and each laureate receives a diploma. Previous winners of the SigmaPhi Prize are: Giorgio Parisi, Itamar Procaccia and Eugene Stanley.

2017 SigmaPhi Prize:


From left to right: Stefano Ruffo (SigmaPhi 2017 Prize), David Mukamel (SigmaPhi 2017 Prize), Ralf Metzler (SigmaPhi 2017 Prize), Giorgio Kaniadakis (Chairman of SigmaPhi Conference), Cristian Beck (Chair of EPS-SNLP Division)

Ralf Metzler: for his outstanding contributions to the Statistical Physics of Non-equilibrium phenomena and Biological Physics, in particular, for his contributions in the field of anomalous diffusion, non-ergodicity, and single molecular processes

Short biography: Ralf Metzler studied physics at Ulm University and had postdocs at Tel Aviv University and MIT. He has held faculty positions at the Nordic Institute for Theoretical Physics, Copenhagen, University of Ottawa, Technical University of Munich, Tampere University of Technology, and University of Potsdam. He has been developing the fractional Fokker-Planck equation framework, the concept of time averaging of stochastic processes and their ageing and non-ergodic behaviour. Moreover, Ralf has been involved in the study of diffusion-based molecular egulation and first passage processes, as well as simulations of soft matter dynamics with crowding.

David Mukamel: for his outstanding contributions  to the understanding the role of symmetry in equilibrium and out of equilibrium phase transitions

Short biography: David Mukamel studied physics at The Weizmann Institute and was a postdocal fellow at Brookhaven National Lab and Cornell University. He has been holding a faculty position at The Weizmann Institute since 1977. In his studies he combined statistical physics together with group theoretical methods to study collective behavior of  many-body systems in and out of thermal equilibrium. His studies on long-range order and long-range correlations contributed to the understanding of these phenomena in diverse classes of physical systems including magnets, liquid crystals, DNA melting, driven systems and others.

Stefano Ruffo: for his outstanding contributions to the statistical and dynamical behaviour of systems of nonlinear coupled oscillators and with long-range interactions.

Short biography: Stefano Ruffo is the Director of the International School for Advances Studies (SISSA) in Trieste. He has been the Chairman of the Statistical Physics Commission of IUPAP in 2012-2014. He is a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the E. Schroedinger Institute (2016-18) and of the Board of the Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division of the EPS (2016-18). Among his scientific achievements one can mention the numerical evidence of the transition to equipartition in the Fermi-Pasta-Ulam (FPU) model, the demonstration of the thermodynamic limit of the Lyapunov spectrum, the introduction of the concept of chaotic breather, the discussion of quasi-stationary states in the Hamiltonian Mean Field Model (HMF) and of ensemble inequivalence in systems with long-range interactions.



SigmaPhi Prizes

During the conference, six works selected out of all the oral and poster presentations have been awarded. The prizes have been supported by the following institutions: - European Phy...

>> Read more

School of Statistical Physics

New Trends in StatPhys: Organized by G. Caldarelli and G. Kaniadakis

>> Read more

EPS Young Researcher Grants

The Organizing Committee of the SigmaPhi 2017 International Conference is very please to inform that the EPS Young Researcher Grants have been assigned

>> Read more

Elsevier lectures

The publishing company Elsevier sponsors two lectures

>> Read more

Springer Nature Lectures

The publishing company Springer Nature sponsors three lectures

>> Read more

EPS-SNP Meeting

The summer board meeting of the European Physical Society - Statistical and Nonlinear Physics Division (EPS-SNP) will be held during the SigmaPhi2017 Conference

>> Read more

SigmaPhi2017 Europhysics Conference

The European Physical Society (EPS) has recognized the SigmaPhi2017 as Europhysics Conference.

>> Read more


1. Kappa Distributions and Statistical Mechanics

Workshop organized by: G. Livadiotis, P. Yoon and K. Dialynas

>> Read more

2. Statistical Physics for the Digital Economy

Workshop organized by: T. Aste, G. Caldarelli, T. Di Matteo and G. Livan

>> Read more

3. Quantum Matter

Workshop organized by: S. Kourtis, D. Ellinas and J. Pachos

>> Read more

4. Statistical Physics of Environment, Climate and Ecosystems

Workshop organized by: P. Ditlevsen, D. Hristopulos and D. Valenti

>> Read more

5. Complexity and self-organization in biology and physiology

Workshop organized by: P. Paradisi and R. Metzler

>> Read more

6. Sociophysics and Econophysics

Workshop organized by: M.L. Bertotti and V. Constantoudis

>> Read more

Special Sessions

A1. Stochastic Processes in Complex Environments

Special Session organized by: J. Talbot and C. Mejia-Monasterio

>> Read more

A2. Kinetic Theory and its applications

Special Session organized by: G. Palasanzas and A. Rossani

>> Read more

A3. Information Geometry

Special Session organized by: D. Johnston, H. Matsuzoe, G. Ruppeiner and T. Wada

>> Read more

Scientific Sponsors 2017

 Statistical and Nonlinear

Physics Division 

Politecnico di Torino




 Department of Applied

Science and Technology



Roma, Italy

 Technical University of

Crete Chania, Greece

 Aristotele University of

Thessaloniki, Greece

N.C.S.R. Demokritos

Athens, Greece

Italian National Institute

for Nuclear Physics


University of Cagliari




University of Leuven
















Chaos, Solitons

& Fractals


Modern Physics

Letters B


International Journal

of Modern Physics B